Tainan City - Anping Historic Sites
History buffs will appreciate a visit to Fort Zeelandia (a.k.a. Anping Fort) which was built by the Dutch in 1653. Much of the original fort was destroyed by a typhoon in the 1800s so what exists today has been largely reconstructed. There is an observation tower in the center of the grounds though it has to be said, the view is less than spectacular. The nearby Matsu Temple is quite impressive and is claimed by some to be the oldest Matsu Temple in Taiwan.
The fort is handy to some other relics such as historic Yen Ping Street, the first road built by the Dutch in Anping and the Haishan Hostel built in 1684 which served as lodgings for soldiers of the Qing Dynasty.
The Eternal Golden Castle (Yi Zai Jin Cheng) is a fortress built in 1876 with the aid of French Architects, to counter Japanese expansion into Taiwan. Much of it has been reconstructed though the Main entrance gateway is original.
The Tait Company was founded in 1867. They exported tea and provided a banking and insurance service. The old Tait & Co.Merchant House is now a wax museum. Included in the exhibits are some terracotta warriors, from Xian, China, donated by the Chimei company. Nearby is the Anping Tree House, previously a warehouse owned by the Tait company it has more recently become engulfed by banyan trees. It's now a popular spot for local tourism.
Address: No108, Gubao St., Anping District, Tainan City 708, Taiwan (R.O.C.)
During Japanese rule the trade in camphor and opium became a government monopoly and many of the merchant houses closed their doors. The Julius Mannich building was at one time the Tainan Police station and later a dormitory of the salt works. Currently it houses a small museum of Anping's trading history and in the front yard is a popular beer garden serving German brews.
Oyster shells were used in the manufacture of cement. There is a small museum with informative displays. Graphic illustrations have some interesting captions such as.....