Lao People's Democratic Republic


Foreign tourists are generally admitted to Laos for 15 or 30 days with a visa on arrival or for 30 days with a visa issued at a Lao embassy.

You will need two passport size photographs and $30 at Wattay Airport, Vientiane; Friendship Bridge, Vientiane; and Luang Prabang Airport.

Visa on Arrival

As of 2008 the following entry points are available for VOA:

1. China (Mohan - Boten) Luang Namtha Province
2. Thailand (Chiang Khong - Houay Xay) Bokeo Province
3. Thailand (Nong Khai -Vientiane Capital) Friendship Bridge
4. Thailand (Nakhon Phanom -Thakhaek) Khammouane Province
5. Thailand (Moukdahan -Savannakhet) Savannakhet Province (Friendship Bridge II)
6. Thailand (Chong Mek - Vang Tao) Champasak Province
7. Vietnam (Nam Kanh - Nong Haet ) Xieng Khouang Province
8. Vietnam (Kao Cheo - Nam Phao) Bolikhamxay
9. Vietnam (Lao Bao- Denesavanh) Savannakhet Province
10. Vietnam (Nameo - Banleui,) Huaphanh Province.
11. Wattay International Airport Vientiane Capital
12. Pakse International Airport Champasak Province
13. Luang Prabang International Airport Luang Prabang

You cannot get visa on arrival at the following:

- Bungkan - Pakxan, Nongkhay-Bolikhamxay Province
- Taichang - Sobhoung, Laichau to Phongsaly Province
- Napao - Chalo, Quangbinh to Khammouane Province
- Dong Calor - Veun Kham, Cambodia to Champasak Province
- Xiangkok riverport on Mekong River in Luang Namtha Province

Laos Links:

Eco-tourism Laos
Lao Yellow Pages


Lao Bumpkin - Somchai's Laos Blogs
Visions of Laos - Great collection of photographs by Craig Schuler